Mixed Media Technique Tags ” Let’s Get Started”

 

I am so very excited to be launching my new series “Mixed Media Technique Tags 2017” . I’ve had this idea for over a year but the timing just never seemed right. With 2017 just around the corner I’ve decided that the time is NOW.  I believe I have enough figured out, but as usual I feel like I’ve jumped from the plane and am sewing the parachute on the way down. Please be patient as some things may not go exactly as I planned and things may be tweaked as we progress. As always I am open to suggestions and ideas from you , my subscribers.

In this series I plan to demonstrate mixed media/art journaling techniques, tips, or tidbits.  Not only will I provide YouTube tutorial showing you the technique and some variations, but also,     ( time and energy permitting)  post a summary of the techniques on my blog as well. Any printables that I create for this series will be in the blog posts so be sure that you have selected the option to be notified of new blog posts.

Why tags? I have found in the past that doing something new on smaller pages, be it a tag, ATC (Artist Trading Card) or ICAD ( Index Card a Day) is very freeing. Somehow, it doesn’t seem to be so overwhelming. It’s not expensive, it’s not big and it doesn’t take long, so the “risk”  and commitment is less.

img_6857

The goal of the tags is NOT to end up with a finished page. The goal is to  set up a  mixed media/art journal reference tool  that contains samples as well as  a written summary of each technique .  With each technique I plan to make at least one tag. Depending on variations there may be more than one tag. For instance, the salt technique is one technique, but I will make multiple tags using many of my color mediums. After all, we don’t all have the same mediums…nor should we feel pressured to get them all. Maximizing the use of what we have is key. The technique will look slightly different for each medium and I think it would be beneficial to have a snapshot of what each would look like. Plus, on the back of the card ( or on a summary card) we will be able to add comments that will lead to success when we try technique again.

img_68665512 img_68715516 img_68705511 img_68695515 img_68685514 img_68675513

I have selected six categories to organize all the techniques into. Please go to this link to get more information about this series and get instructions on how to “get ready” for series ( making tags and category tags).

I also want to develop a community of artists that discuss and share. I am hoping people post their technique tags and come to enjoy the “creationships” on my facebook group Allthingsmixedmedia:CreativeKady. https://www.facebook.com/groups/1021241874586337/

Also, please use #mixedmediatechniquetags2017 or #creativekady when posting or sharing on social media. Once we get going I plan on having challenges where we create pages using MMTT # ___( Mixed Media Technique Tag).

Printables can be found by clicking on these links:  ( if you do not have the font I used on your computer it may look different than mine or the formatting may be off) If this is the case, use the information of the printables to create your own)

Categories

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B6YPc2mKhAe0ZEtwN2psQUxIUjQ

One part summary

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B6YPc2mKhAe0c1RWRkJWWDBrZzA

Two part summary

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B6YPc2mKhAe0TjBLc0tqOG5Hc1E

I look forward to taking this journey with you.  Be sure to select to be notified of upcoming videos/blogs so you will know when they are out. Look for the first technique video early in January.

CreativeKady/Karen Burchill

 

 

4 thoughts on “Mixed Media Technique Tags ” Let’s Get Started”

Leave a Reply

