ICAD- Index Card a Day # 6

IMG_5338

I am a teacher. That means June is busy, hectic and somewhat stressful at the best of times. This year is no exception. In fact, the stress and the business is multiplied a hundred fold as my husband and I will be relocating to Vancouver Island, BC. We are busy packing, cleaning, purging, etc etc etc. He leaves this Saturday.  Soooooooooooo, what do I do? I decide that this is a good time to take on the Index Card a Day challenge put on by daisyyellowart.com .  Not only do the challenge but do blog posts and/or videos. Someone asked ” are you crazy” , but the way I see it, when I’m creating, I’m in my happy place. Doing art balances me and makes me feel better. So in taking this challenge I feel I am ensuring that I will keep doing art while the life around me spins.

I started this ICAD by taking an old pattern and crumpling it up and then  gluing with Mod Podge Matt to my ” index card” (a  deck of flashcards I decided to upcycle) . I repeated the process to get another layer. Since the numbers could still be seen through the pattern paper I applied a layer of white gesso.

IMG_5321 IMG_5323

While this was drying I stamped out the sentiment and focal point with StazOn black ink onto delli paper. I was undecided at this time what I was actually going to do. What I don’t use now I will save for another ICAD .

IMG_5324IMG_5331

I picked out several colors of Inktense blocks and scribbled them lightest to darkest on the card. I then sprayed with water and activated and blended the colors with my fingers. I added more color until I was happy with it.

 

IMG_5325

I then cut out my stamped images and sentiment. Notice that I chose not to use the sentiment exactly as it was. Make the most of your stamps and edit them as you need. Take bits and pieces from one stamp set and combine with others.

IMG_5326

While I was arranging the image and sentiment I decided to take my Dylusions paint in color Pomegranate Seed and using the blending tool rub the color lightly over the high spots that the crumpled pattern paper created. Then I used Artist Loft Bronze to lightly go over top of that to add some shimmer.

IMG_5327 IMG_5328

Here’s a close up of the lovliness this created. Yummmmmy.

IMG_5329

Now I adhered the image and sentiment with Gel Matt Medium and dried it

IMG_5332

I decide to use the Dylusions paint to color the flowers and Inktense blocks to color the leaves and stem. This turned out too dark and I lost the linework.I used the Pilot Permaball black pen to go over the words and try to put some of the linework back.

IMG_5333                                   IMG_5334 IMG_5335

I attempted to add some detail by using my Stabilo All Pencil, but that didn’t make it better. I then used my white Uni ball Signo pen and outlined the flowers, stems and leaves. ( oops no picture). I did not like this any better so knowing that the Uniball Signo pen was not permanent I took it off  with a baby wipe. I noticed that the baby wipe took off some of the Dylusions dark burgundy paint so I rubbed a little harder and lightened the flowers. Okay, now I was happy with how it looked.  I painted over the words with Inktense blocks the same color as what was underneath it. This helped blend the deli paper into the card so it didn’t stand out so much. The last thing I did was use Stickles in the middle of each flower and outline the card with  Stickle dots. IMG_5338

VISIT MY AMAZON STORE

I’ve done the work for you and organized my store by categories. Everything I chose is CreativeKady approved- I either own it OR want to own it.

http://astore.amazon.com/creativekad05-20

Inktense Blocks 36- http://amzn.to/2b3MB7l

Inktense Blocks 72  – http://amzn.to/2aU3mnK

Gold Paint- http://amzn.to/2cfMGUm

Dylusions Paint Pomegranate Seed http://amzn.to/2cMnx3F

8 thoughts on “ICAD- Index Card a Day # 6

  1. nicksbogota

    Hi Creative Kady

    I was reading your blog where you say you are moving to Vancouver and I have a tip for you.

    Although there is Michaels there, last year when I visited my son who lives there I found this place Scrapbook Warehouse 8932 Oak St. 604.266.4433 – They have tons of scrapbooking stuff. Thought I would let you know.

    Enjoy Vancouver, it is a beautiful place.

    Regards

    Diana

    PS I live in Bogota, Colombia….

    >

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. poetry of life by jane

    Congrats about your move to Vancouver Island. It is so beautiful there. I have several relations living there.
    whereabouts on the island will you live? Not sure where it is you are moving from, but hope you will love your new location. I love this tutorial ….. turned out great! Thanks for always providing such great hints and ideas.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. creativekady Post author

      We are moving from saskatchewan a province in the middle of Canadian prairies. Not sure exactly where our final location will be. Victoria for now. You’re very welcome . I love sharing what I learn. Karen

      Like

      Reply
  3. poetry of life by jane

    Well Victoria is a great place. One of my grandsons works there and he has traveled around quite a bit and specifically chose to find a job in Victoria. I was born and raised in Vancouver and surrounding areas and now I have retired and live in Penticton, BC. We have a lot of summer vacationers from Alberta and Saskatchewan here in Penticton every year. Good luck with the move, I hope you are happy in BC. My husband was from Denmark and he traveled extensively and then his work took us to South America and many places in the USA and we always looked forward to the day when we could get back to British Columbia. He said there was no place like BC and he loved Vancouver. BC is truly is a wonderful place to live.

    Like

    Reply
    1. creativekady Post author

      Jane, Thank you for the kind words. Moving to Vancouver Island will be quite a change for us. We presently live in the middle of the Canadian prairies, Saskatchewan. No more minus 40 for us and very little snow to speak of. Can’t wait. I love the ocean and the mountains. My husband and I honeymooned in Victoria and we have some family in Vancouver. We are excited to say the least. Karen

      Like

      Reply
  4. Nadine Matheson

    Welcome to the west coast! I came home from five years in Alberta and now my son says he misses the snow. it stays in the mountains where it should be i tell him. thanks for all the inspiration. I’ve got a bad case of art anxiety going on… I’m hoping your prompts will help cure it. this fall plant snow drops and daffodils… they will greet you in February and March.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. creativekady Post author

      Thank you for your thoughtful words. Before I did art my biggest passion was gardening. I love that I will be moving from Zone 2b to zone 8 or 9 and trading in 5 months of growing season for at least 9 months. I am looking forward to growing so many wonderful plants that would never survive winters in Saskatchewan. I hope the prompts help. I find sometimes they help me look at and use my supplies differently than how I usually do. Flowers in February…I can handle that. karen

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

