Motivation Monday IQ+ Card # 6

 

IMG_3006

Use this IQ+ Card  (Inspirational Quote Plus) to get inspiration for your next gelli printing session, art journal page or mixed media project. It is triangular in shape and that means it has at least 3 ways to inspire you.

  1. Use the inspirational quote: ” It’s not about the pieces, but how they work together”. It occurs to me that this quote summarizes “art Journaling” or ” mixed media”. Each component by itself is nice, but not ever amazing. But, put them together and something wornderful happens. The magic of mixed media. I’ve seen people ask in Facebook why people in videos don’t stop sooner. Or why they put down paper , stamps etc, when you can’t see it in the end. The answer is simply the quote ” It’s not about the pieces, but how they work together.” Sometimes the various layers do peak through and make the piece just by being there. They may be subtle, but without them, the pieces would not be the same. If you’ve ever done gelli printing you know how amazing the addition of the “crusty bits” make to the final gelli print.  Sometimes the pieces are necessary , because we as artists need to go through that process to get to the end. Not many of us still crawl, but learning to crawl was a necessary step to walking.  IMG_3005
  2. Use the  color combination or color scheme .  Dark blue, aqua, and white. This reminds me of the Caribbean Ocean. It’s cool , inviting and fresh. Maybe I will create a beach scene from this inspiration, or under the sea. What does it make you think of? 

IMG_3005

3.   Use the patterns/designs and get  some great ideas on how to use patterns to create effective layering.  Look at this texture/design above. The pattern comes from one of my favorite 6 inch stencil from Crafters Workshop. I started by applying the blue and aqua on the gelli plate. I wasn’t particular about where I placed it. When I brayered the paint it mixed.   I placed bubble wrap on top of the paint and lifted some paint. I took a print of it. This became my background . Then when the gelli plate was clean I put white on , then placed my Crafters’ Workshop stencil, I lifted the white paint with the stencil still on. Then lifted the stencil and took the print you see. This print would look totally different without the use of bubble wrap on the background layer.

                                                                                                                                                                      Use  any or all of the three  inspirations to  create something wonderful.   Please be sure to post your creations that were inspired by this deck on the Facebook Group in the Motivation Monday album.    allthingsmixedmedia:CreativeKady

https://www.facebook.com/groups/1021241874586337/

I would love you to join the “creationships” that are being developed there.

CreativeKady/Karen Burchill

Don’t forget to become a follower to this blog . That way you will get an email every time I publish a blog post.

Want to create your own IQ+ Cards – click below.

http://wp.me/p6ASQH-cq

 

 

Leave a Reply

