Motivation Monday IQ+ Card # 4

 

IMG_3018Use this IQ+ Card  (Inspirational Quote Plus) to get inspiration for your next gelli printing session, art journal page or mixed media project. It is triangular in shape and that means it has at least 3 ways to inspire you.

  1. Use the inspirational quote: ” Focus on the journey, not on the destination.”                     So often I find we focus on where we want to be and don’t enjoy where we are in the journey. We fail to appreciate what is happening right now. We want to rush through this part to get to the destination.  We don’t stop and smell the flowers. This applies to our individual journeys into “art journaling/mixed media”                                                                       In the last few weeks, in a couple of the Facebook Groups I belong to, someone has posed the question ,  ” What do you do with the art journals?  What is the purpose of them beyond the creating.”                                                                                                                                             I   admit that I am hoping to turn my “art” and ” hobby” into something more once I retire. I am not sure if I will try to sell my art, teach art journaling classes, teach online classes or some combination of all the above.  But for the here and now, the purpose of my art journaling, and blogging and videoing is just to enjoy the process of creating and sharing. The purpose now is to learn and grow, to extend myself and open myself up to others. But, there is an even more basic purpose. I am happier when I am involved in a creative process. Playing with color, pattern, design simply makes me smile. My life is better when I engage in a “creative” pursuit. Sharing it with you is the cherry on top of the sundae.

IMG_3020 IMG_3019

  1. Use the  color combination or color scheme .  This color scheme is fairly monochromatic with shades of blue and a mix of silver ( you know me, I have to have some shimmer) . There is also some purple in the mix.  The white appears as I lifted the paint from the “flowerbursts” prior to taking off the stencil and pulling the print.  In the background there are the remains of “grundgy bits” from the gelli plate that simply add interest in their unpredictability.

3.  Use the patterns/designs and get  some great ideas on how to use patterns to create effective layering.   IMG_3021This uses the Joggles stencil entitled ” Flowerburst” . After putting blue and silver paint on the “grundgy” gelli plate I place the stencil on the gelli plate. I placed a paper on the stencil and removed the paint from the “flowerbursts” , then I removed the stencil and lifted this gorgeous print. I chose the quote for this design as it seems to spin, and draw you in.

If I was to use this stencil on a journal page and ” stencil” with it. I would use the “bump” technique where you stencil then move stencil just a bit , and stencil again. It produces a wonderful effect.                                                                                                                                                                                    IMG_3018                                                                                                                                                                            Use  any or all of the three  inspirations to  create something wonderful.   Please be sure to post your creations that were inspired by this deck on the Facebook Group in the Motivation Monday album

allthingsmixedmedia:CreativeKady

https://www.facebook.com/groups/1021241874586337/

I would love you to join the “creationships” that are being developed there.

CreativeKady/Karen Burchill

Don’t forget to become a follower to this blog . That way you will get an email every time I publish a blog post.

Want to create your own IQ+ Cards – click below.

http://wp.me/p6ASQH-cq

 

 

Leave a Reply

