2nd Way to Maximize Your Stamping Dollars- Selective Sourcing and Purchasing of Stamps

Selective Sourcing  and Purchasing of Stamps

You need to be smart when buying stamps. I refuse to pay full price for any art material and that goes for stamps too. First off I check out our local dollar store for stamps. All dollar stores, I’ve been in carry the same line and often you can get a set of clear stamps for under $3. I was hesitant at first, but they work great. Here are some of the clear stamp collections I’ve picked up there.

IMG_2704 (2)     IMG_2703 (2)

Another place to check out is the dollar bins at Michaels or your big box  craft stores. I know at Michaels every season has its own selection of wood mounted stamps and I’ve taken advantage of them. Here are some of the ones I’ve purchased for about one dollar each.

IMG_2701 (2)

Let’s not forget the coupons. You can get the coupons in the mail, find them online or even have them delivered to your smart phone. I never head to the city without checking to see what the deals are. I’ve heard from some of my American followers that some of the craft stores will even accept competitors coupons. I’ve also read that most of the same craft stores offer discounts to teachers, seniors ( age as low as 50) and military. Always ask as it isn’t always advertised.

Check out children’s art supplies. Often they have stamps and stencils at reduced price point.I have purchased some letter stamps from here.Always be on the look out as you never know where you may find them.  I buy many little stamp collections for $1.49 that have a cute picture and sentiment. I find these in a small town drug store. Always be on the look out. These are from Hot Off The Press and are available on their web page.

IMG_2707

I’ve also gotten some “deals” on Amazon, but there is a trick to successfully purchasing on Amazon. As it is somewhat long and applies to all art supplies, I will save this for a future blog article.

Selective purchasing is also key when deciding to spend your hard earned/saved money. Here’s what I recommend as valuable versatile purchases.  Look at a stamp and ask yourself ” How often will I use this stamp?” ” Is this a one timer or does it have multiple uses on a wide variety of types of pages” The latter are the type of stamps that are worth getting on sale for 40-50% off. lol

I have a couple of such stamps and I recommend to all mixed media artists. One is a script stamp, the other a foliage block stamp , which has 4 types of foliage on each side. If you’ve watched any of my videos, chances are you will see me using these.  Tim Holtz / Dylusions has some great quality background stamps, but I find these lines to be expensive, so I definitely don’t buy unless I get a great discount. Here are pictures of my favorite ” go to ” stamps”. All of these were purchased at Michael’s either with a 50% off coupon or BOGO deal.

IMG_2699 (2)

I hate to admit it, but I did pay full price for this Tim Holtz stamp set. The reason for this is that it is very versatile and can be used on a wide variety of themed pages. These are all background stamps.

IMG_2706

I also recommend getting at least one set of upper and lower case stamps so you can stamp out any quote ( if your like me and don’t like your lettering). I got this set from Michaels, and yes I did get it 50% off. I liked it because while it isn’t strictly upper and lower case letters, there are 2 sizes and you can mix and match them.

The picture/focal point stamps, as expected, contain pictures for example a Christmas tree, poinsetia, birds etc. Often these are on a smaller scale than those you would want to use on a journal page. They will work well on Artist Trading Cards ATCs, ICADS ( Index Cards), or if making a mixed media greeting card.  But wait, don’t write off buying these stamps. All you need to do is apply a little “creativekady” .

VISIT MY AMAZON STORE

http://astore.amazon.com/creativekad05-20

 I’ve done the work for you and organized my store by categories. Everything I chose is CreativeKady approved- I either own it OR want to own it.

Save time and go directly to the stamp category

  http://astore.amazon.com/creativekad05-20?_encoding=UTF8&node=3

Missed the first part of this series ” DIY Stamp Creation” Click the link below.

http://wp.me/p6ASQH-7J

Want to read the last in the series ” Applying “creativekady” To Get Bang For Your Buck

http://wp.me/p6ASQH-85

Happy Stamping

CreativeKady/Karen

 

2 thoughts on “2nd Way to Maximize Your Stamping Dollars- Selective Sourcing and Purchasing of Stamps

Leave a Reply

