Don’t Throw Out Your Mistakes: Learn From Them

IMG_2582

I love this Christmas card. I love everything about it. NOW!

IMG_2593

I was so excited to borrow a poinsettia stamp from my friend Yvonne. I planned on stamping onto the Strathmore Watercolor Card with black StazOn Ink and then use watercolor to paint it.

Then I decided to use my Inktense Blocks by Derwent. I wet the blocks and painted the poinsettia shades of pink, red and green.  I added multiple layers and was very happy when I dropped in blue near the center of the poinsettia. It was looking good.

Then I turned my attention to the background. I wet it  with my brush and dropped in the colors I had used into the background. It didn’t take long before  I flashed back to when I did watercolor ( last fall) and how I used to do backgrounds first. That was my first mistake. I persevered. What resulted was a very watered down background that was very pastel- like. I wasn’t happy with it so I set it aside and did other cards. You can watch the YouTube videos by following this link which will take you to the Christmas playlist. There will be at least 4 Christmas card videos there to watch.

Still not  happy with the cards, I decided to redo the background. What did I have to lose? I was going to toss them anyway.  I used a couple shades of green and blue and rubbed the brush on the Inktense Blocks  to create a very wet and pigmented Thro background. The pink you see was there from my first background. When I was happy with the background I sprinkled salt on it. The salt gives it texture. It pulls some of the pigment in adding lots of dimension to the background.

IMG_2541

I got out my Lindy’s Starburst sprays and opened them up. Dangerous I know.  I used the Poinsettia Red Gold for the flowers. See the shimmer of gold.  I used Ponderosa Pines Olive for the leaves. I applied the color with a very fine liner brush. The green had a silver blue tinge that looked too grey so I used my  Wilton Juniper Green homemade spray over top. Then I outlined all with my Micron Pen.

IMG_2544 IMG_2539

I wanted to add some gold to the background. But how could I stamp over the poinsettia? I decided that since I couldn’t I would splatter thinned acrylic gold paint over the whole card. Here is card #1.

IMG_2584

Then I remembered I had seen people stamping the stamp on paper and cutting it out to make a mask to cover what you don’t want to get stamped. So that’s what I did.  I used my Old Letter Writing Script stamp and applied gold acrylic paint with a makeup sponge. Here is card #2.

IMG_2582

In the end I got two cards I am very happy with and I used a couple different techniques I’ve never done along the way. I wouldn’t have done either if I had just tossed these cards. So, word to the wise. Don’t throw out your mistakes. Work with them and learn the lessons they have to teach you.

CreativeKady

 

One thought on “Don’t Throw Out Your Mistakes: Learn From Them

  1. Linda Longenecker

    Absolutely! Never toss mistakes, as they can urn into magic! Even cut up for three dimensional art is good…..One tip, NEVER spray gloss on top of rhinestones! It dulls them and their sparkle! Oops..Just had to remove and re:glue some on a star I made for the tree…..

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

