12 Days of Christmas- A Gift Of Time: Gifts for Artists

My husband and I have a Christmas tradition of buying and giving each other 12 gifts, one for each of the 12 Days of Christmas. We start opening them on December 11th, one a day.

Most people think this is a great idea. It is, but not for the fact that we get our presents early or even that we get 12 different presents.  Doing the 12 Days of Christmas is so much more than the presents themselves. It is a gift of time. It is a gift of focus and attention on your loved one. It is the gift of paying attention all year long to the interests, hobbies, likes and wants of your partner. Taking notice. Supporting your partner.

When December hits doing the 12 Days of Christmas  gives us an added bonus. It slows us down. We make time in the harried season to spend together.

My husband is extremely supportive of my art. He knows how much it means to me and the positive benefits I get from it. This year the 12 Days of Christmas seems to have an obvious theme- art. I thought I’d share some of the items I’ve gotten as they make perfect gifts for any artist.

IMG_4538 [43586] An artist can never have too much gesso. 
IMG_4536
IMG_4535

Faber Castell pencil sharpener. Nothing sharpens watercolor pencils, stabilio all pencils, charcoal pencils or inktense pencils better.

IMG_4534A collection of Micron Pens of varying thicknesses. For Zentangling, doodling or line work in art journals.

IMG_4539 [43587]

Stampin’ Up cutter.

IMG_4543 [2454788]

And a lot of Turtles . After all , you can’t live on art alone. I will give you an update with more great gifts for the artist in your life.

What will you buy the artist in your life this Christmas?

CreativeKady

6 thoughts on “12 Days of Christmas- A Gift Of Time: Gifts for Artists

  1. rnee1000

    That is such a beautiful and soulful idea! And what great and useful gifts. Sounds like your husband is as supportive of your creative life as my husband is of mine! We are indeed lucky ladies.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Linda Longenecker

    I laughed myself silly over the GESSO thing! I keep a list of needed supplies and I have written out Gesso more times than I can recall! You’d think we drink this stuff the fast that it disappears!
    Love the pencil sharpener too! Great 12 gift idea..so cute and charming!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

