How to Effectively Use Black in Art Journaling: Techniques

IMG_0590 [1763065]

This technique is a very simple, yet very effective and striking. Above you see the backs of the start of a pocket letter.

It started out as a piece of 11X14  piece of mixed media paper from Canson. I applied a layer of gesso to it. After drying I got out my Inktense Blocks and colored randomly with a multitude of colors. I sprayed with water and activated the ink from the Inktense Blocks with my fingers. I blended colors , adding more color until I got a background I liked.  I dipped a paper towel in any areas that got too wet or where water was pooling.

dylusions

When dry I used the stencil Flower Medley  and taped it down in the corners so it wouldn’t move. I  applied black craft paint with a make up sponge. I start at  the top and work my way down, being careful not to have too much paint on the sponge so it wouldn’t leak under the stencil. I find applying two lighter layers of paint allows for more control. Lift off the stencil and dry. I have a tub of water and dishsoap handy to put stencils in so clean up is easier.  I cut the piece into 3 1/2 by 2 1/2 inches -the size of an ATC. I added designs and quotes to the other side specific to the person who received the pocket letter.

Here is the same technique used on an art journal page.

IMG_2347

This art journal page was made using the same stencil technique. The only difference here is I spread acrylic paint in fall leaf colors onto the gessoed surface before I applied black paint through a leaf stencil from Plaid. After applying the black paint through the stencil I splattered gold acrylic paint and adhered a quote with gel medium.

I printed off the quote on paper that is thicker than regular copy paper, but copy paper will work. I colored the paper with Distress Ink Walnut Stain. I used liner brush to make the letters blacker and outlined the letters with my cheap dollar store gold gel pen.

Here is an ATC made using the same technique. I used Inktense Blocks here and Crafter’s Workshop Stencil ” Flower Frenzy”  and stamped it with a wooden script stamp. I outlined the flowers using Uniball Signo white gel pen.

FullSizeRender [1287134]

As you can see the variations are endless. Give it a try. Use black through a stencil or mask. Be sure to come back and post the results.

CreativeKady

Leave a Reply

