Using Inspiration Prompt Sticks: Just Bloom

 

IMG_2503

This art journal was created using my Inspiration Prompt Sticks that I blogged about just the other day. http://wp.me/p6ASQH-4d   Here’s the link if you want to check it out .

For this art journal page I picked the following Inspiration Prompt Sticks

IMG_2501

Red: Paint or Ink Medium: Use sprays    Purple: Texture: Use bubble wrap/punchinella

Green: Pattern: Use masking tape           Blue: Color or Theme: Use summer theme

Orange: Technique: Collage                       Yellow: Additional Details: Work with white space

First I applied Liquitex Gesso to the page. I do this because it primes the paper and prepares it to handle wet mediums. To be honest it also helps me get “into” the creative zone or buys time when I don’t know what to do. On this page it did all three.

I got out masking tape and using my dollar store find curvy ruler cut the edges to make curves. I applied this to the page. This will prevent any color from getting on whatever I cover. This hits two of my prompts, use masking tape and work with white space. Gotta love a two-fer.

I then got out Dylusions stencil called “Flower Medley” and sprayed three of my homemade Inktense Block sprays through the stencil. I used 600 Shiraz ( one of my favorites) 210 Cadmium Yellow and 720 Thistle. On my YouTube Channel I made a series of 7 ( yes 7) videos of uses of Inktense Blocks. No, I’m not paid by them, I just really like the versatility of Derwent’s Inktense Blocks.  Here’s the link to  the playlist that has all of them. The one dealing with sprays is Number 2. Do yourself a favor though, while there is a lot of information there, go through all of them. If you do you will  get the most out of this product.

After drying this I used both punchinella and bubble wrap and used it to make designs on the  page. I used similar colors of my craft paint. I have the Ceremcoat brand from my folkart days. I mixed butter yellow, tangerine and ivory for one color, butter yellow for the next and bright red. the red looks pinkish because of the colors from the sprays. I removed the masking tape at this time. Be careful and go slow so you don’t remove some of the paper. I used painter’s tape. You can buy special art tape, but I’ve never used anything but the painter’s tape. I get mine from Walmart.

IMG_2503

 

Then I used my Bo Bunny Stamp to making the stitch-like border and a Recollections flower stamp randomly over page. I used my black StazOn  for both because I thought it needed a pop of black and, well because it was my only stamp pad at that time.

The daisy picture I had in my stash. I had cut it out from a magazine. I cut it in half and I adhered each half with mod podge. Feeling that the picture needed more definition. I used my Neo-color IIs to darken the flower and make it blend more into the page. While I used Neo-color IIs  I could have used my Inktense Blocks or Pencils. My decision to use my small set of Neo-color IIs was because I just got them from Amazon and I have a rule about using new things immediately. ( not kidding) . I shaded around the flower with black and brown. I used vermillion, orange and yellow on the flower itself.

I typed out the quote on my computer and chose the Scrap It Up font. I printed it on deli paper. See my YouTube channel for this video. After cutting this out I adhered it with Mod Podge Matte into the white space I had created with the masking tape.

I love this page and I know that I would never have created it without the process of using my Inspiration Prompt Sticks. They challenged and pushed me and I created better for it.

If you haven’t followed my blog yet, please do so on the right by entering your email. Two good things happen when you do this. One, you get an email when I post a new blog. ( right now I’m trying to blog each day, but after Christmas this will not continue. I will still post often, bringing you lots of ideas and inspiration. The second thing that will happen if you are an email follower is that periodically I will be sending out an exclusive “goody” . This time I’m letting you know it is happening, but after that I will just do it as a thank you for following.

Here’s an invitation to you all. Use the same prompts I used and post your page or ATC back on here. I’d love to see your creativity.

I just created a Facebook Group so there is a place to share what you create and can develop “creationships” with others on this creative journey. The group is called CreativeKady: All Things Mixed Media. Hope to see you there. 

CreativeKady

IMG_2503

 

2 thoughts on “Using Inspiration Prompt Sticks: Just Bloom

Leave a Reply

