You Are My Missing Piece-An ATC Tutorial

IIMG_4500 [1209225]

Throughout my entire life I  always did something creative: cross stitching, paper tole, folk art, landscaping.  Then I didn’t. I don’t know when or why exactly it changed, but it did.

Then about three or four years ago I ended up off work for 6 months with my fibromylgia, migraines and a multiple chemical sensitivity. While recouperating I discovered Pinterest. All the posts of water colors called to me. My husband picked up on this and bought me a one huge one box fits all art set. I started to dabble in watercolor. I discovered YouTube videos. I was hooked. I loved getting creative.  Something in me perked up. Then last February I discovered mixed media and art journaling. It’s not an exageration to say that art now fills my mind and is part of every day in some way. It balances me. In fact you can say  creating or art was my “missing piece.”

IMG_4500 [1209225]

I started by gessoing the Artist Trading Card ATC. I used Liquitex Professional Gesso. Why? It was on sale and when I started I didn’t know any difference.

I took my Inktense Blocks and colored on the gesso using violet, pink and teal colors. I blended them with my fingers  and water and dried it with my heat tool. While I used Inktense Blocks you could do the same with Neo-Color IIs, pastels, watercolor crayons.

I then sprayed the card with Lindy’s Stampgang Starburst Sprays in the colors, Violet Purple Teal and Afternoon Delight Denim. If you haven’t used these let me tell you they are AMAZING. The Starburst line has two toned shimmer. An effect you can’t duplicate and well worth the price ( in my mind). Again, don’t have Lindy’s use whatever kind of spray you have, if it has shimmer all the better.

I stamped the card with Dylusions stamp heart dangles from the set entitled ” Inbetweenies”. I used black StazOn ink. Substitute with any pattern stamp.

Then I gessoed the puzzle pieces. I bought the puzzle at the second hand store. A great place to find some well priced art materials by the way. I sprayed the puzzle pieces with the same two Starburst sprays I mentioned above. I repeated the spray , drying the pieces until I got an effect I liked. I then outlines the pieces with a Pitt fine liner pen.

I printed off the quote and sprayed the words with another Starburst spray called Tibetan Poppy Teal. I glued the words onto the puzzle pieces and the puzzle pieces onto the card using Golden Gel Medium. I then tool my white Uniball Signo pen and went over the letters and added dash marks around the card. The color of the sprays does bleed through the white somewhat- but I like the effect.

IMG_4500 [1209225]

Please take time to share your story of how you came to your “art”. I’d love to hear about it.

CreativeKady

2 thoughts on “You Are My Missing Piece-An ATC Tutorial

  1. Linda J. Longenecker

    I too have always had a big interest in art….BUT, I got breast caner and my priorities changed……
    Then I went into depression. Seeing a therapist and decided to start the art again. Well, it has really cured me of the upset. I am so busy I don’t have time to think much about being down. I am completely engrossed when I am creating…Better than meds. to be sure! I am finally feeling joy again..Long time no see!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

