O Christmas Tree- The Gelli Print Way

After watching several YouTube videos I decided to take an idea from one video by Einat Kessler who does a 12 Cards of Christmas series and one idea from Prairie Paper and Ink who also do a yearly Christmas Card series.  Then I tossed in my own idea of using some of my ( you guessed it) gelli prints.

First thing I did was pull out my Christmas themed gelli prints that I made using my GelliArts 8×10 plate.

Next I created a triangular template out of manila tag.  Here you see it on top of an ATC or Artist Trading Card which measures 2 1/2 inches by 3 1/2 inches. Depending on the size of your card or how many trees you can change the size to fit.

I traced out the triangle three times on each of the three selected gelli prints. See how I saved paper by placing the third one between the first two. These means less cutting too. You could use a triangular die and cut these using a BigShot or other such diecutting machine, but I don’t have one of these so had to do it the old fashioned way.

IMG_2268IMG_2269

Next. I folded them in half with the pattern in the middle. It’s important to get this fairly exact. Then two folded pieces together on one half of the non-patterned side. Followed by attaching third piece to second piece the same way. I used an ordinary glue stick for this. Repeat for other two trees. See how they look when the three pieces are attached. The back side is uncolored paper and will be attached to card at a later step.

IMG_2270IMG_2271IMG_2272

Now, you may notice that you may not have been as exact in matching folds and gluing. This is where we hide the flaws. I used Distress ink in colors that matched the patterns I had chosen and shaded all the white edges and mistakes. See how it improves the final look.

IMG_2273             IMG_2274

Now I put these aside and got out my Strathmore Watercolor Cards.  These can be purchased in boxes of 10 -100 and come with envelopes.

I put the back side into a sleeve I made to keep paint from getting all over it. I painted the sleeve with several coats of modpodge to make it waterproof-ish.IMG_2277I then got out my homemade sprays that I made using Wilton gel colorant for icings. I will attached the link to the video where I do this so you can check it out.

I sprayed a couple colors of blue, purple and teal on the card after sprinkling the card with Magicals from Lindy’s Starbursts. Magicals are intense color with shimmer.

IMG_2276

Before I dried it I sprinkled sea salt on the card, especially where it was wetter. This will give a great textured effect. After drying with my heat tool I attached the 3-D trees with Golden Gel Medium, to the front of the card.  I cut out tree stands from bits of gelli print and glued them on as well. I may go back and add a star to the top of the trees. You can do a vertical card or horizontal as you desire.

Next I got out my letter stamps from Recollections and stamped Merry Christmas with black Stazon ink. I outlined the letters with my gold GellyRoll pen. Then I used some glitter glue to add dots that shimmer and shine. I tried to get a close up so you could see the great texture and shine.

  IMG_2284       IMG_2283

If I was doing this project again I would do it kind of assembly line -like where I do all the cutting, folding, shading, backgrounds etc. all at the same time.  There are lots of variations you can make to this card from the background colors, techniques used, patterns of gelli prints and number and size of trees.

I just realized that I could use this same technique and do this on an art journal page. There may be a video coming with just that.

If you try this project please come back and post it. I would love to see it.

Happy Creating

CreativeKady/Karen

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “O Christmas Tree- The Gelli Print Way

Leave a Reply

