Alcohol Ink Christmas Ornaments

 

I admit it. I watch a lot of You Tube videos about art journaling, mixed media and related things. I have learned so much from this forum, but there is a danger. You see things that you simply must buy. Alcohol inks were one of those things.

So I bought them and then they sat in the drawer. But NO more. I have discovered a few very easy, very showy pieces of art.

Here’s how I created these beautiful ornaments.

IMG_4438

First I bought white glass Christmas balls from Michael’s. You can also buy clear glass ones.

boxed ornaments

Then using alcohol ink from Adirondack and/or Pinata by Jacquard .  I have some of each brand and there is no problem mixing them.Caution when using alcohol inks and rubbing alcohol you need a well ventilated area away from any heat sources. This is not a product you use a heat tool with.

I apply a few dots ( count of 3)  of no more than a couple colors to the Tim Holtz applicator. Then I applied a few dots of rubbing alcohol . You can buy the blending solution from Adirondack/Jaquard, but I don’t believe it’s necessary.Remove the hanger from ornament.  Pat the applicator over the whole ornament. A series of light taps. I start around the top of the ball and try to get ink as close to rim as I can.  Each time you touch the ball it will reactivate the ink that’s already there and you will get a new pattern. Alcohol ink is somewhat unpredictable, but that’s why it’s so amazing.

Between application of colors or patting you can set balls on drying rack. This is simply a board with nails pounded in that will hold the ornaments.

ball on rack

Don’t worry if you don’t like it. If all else fails you can wipe it clean with rubbing alcohol and start over.

Here is another version done on clear class ornaments. Ink is applied in drops and blown with a straw or canned air.

IMG_4434 IMG_4432

 

I hope you enjoy making these. They make great gifts and look awesome on the tree or in a bowl.

Creative Kady

 

 

VISIT MY AMAZON STORE- Affliate link-

Ranger Adirondack Alcohol Ink Wild Plum/Buttrscotch/Stream      http://amzn.to/2gf17Kd

Ranger Adirondack Alcohol Ink Cranberry/Lettuce/Eggplnt    http://amzn.to/2flNSsd

Ranger Adirondack Alcohol Ink Bottle/Terra Cotta/Denim  http://amzn.to/2geVCLP

Ranger Adirondack Brights Alcohol Ink -Indigo/Mermaid/Teakwood  http://amzn.to/2gfWf7c

Applicator   http://amzn.to/2fWWxPV

Felt pads http://amzn.to/2flPamW

I’ve done the work for you and organized my store by categories. Everything I chose is CreativeKady approved- I either own it OR want to own it.

http://astore.amazon.com/creativekad05-20

5 thoughts on “Alcohol Ink Christmas Ornaments

  1. mycraftingtherapyroom

    These are so beautiful and I’m glad you thought of me when you were purchasing the blank ones! We did have fun that evening creating our Christmas balls……so many comments come to mind after that statement…..and I look forward to playing with my clear balls…..resisting the temptation…..
    Yvonne.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Linda

    Absolutely love these! Would it work on plastic ornaments? I’ve never tried alcohol inks. Do you have to seal them with anything? This technique would make a lovely vase!

    Like

    Reply
    1. creativekady Post author

      The alcohol inks should work on any non porous surface. I have done some on plastic ornaments. The effect may be different. I did not seal mine, but people have used Krylon sealer spray. Enjoy. Karen

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

